搜索活动影像博物馆

建议在大楼内佩戴口罩,并在放映期间要求佩戴口罩。 阅读更新的安全指南.

动态影像博物馆公布 2021 年斯隆学生奖的决赛入围者

由全女性评审团选出的两名获胜者将于 2021 年 12 月 3 日公布。

纽约,纽约,2021 年 11 月 4 日 — 动态影像博物馆很高兴地宣布入围的 10 名入围者 2021 年斯隆学生奖.今年是博物馆颁发奖项的第一年;它们以前由翠贝卡电影学院管理。斯隆学生奖——大陪审团和发现奖——旨在庆祝将科学或技术融入现实、引人入胜和及时的故事的优秀剧本,还旨在支持电影发展,并推动多元化的新兴电影制作人在毕业后的职业生涯学校和电影业。

每个决赛选手——由全国 12 个顶级电影项目之一提名——将赢得 $20,000 奖金、行业曝光以及来自科学顾问和电影行业专业人士的全年指导。

“鉴于在好莱坞和 STEM 领域的重要性,我们对这批决赛选手感到兴奋,他们不仅在电影制作人本身,而且在所涉及的科学主题方面也各不相同,”MoMI 的执行主编兼科学与副策展人 Sonia Epstein 说在项目协调员 Sarah Luciano 的支持下领导这个新项目的电影人。 “从睡眠的神经学到艺术鉴定的化学,这些雄心勃勃的项目以故事片和情节形式解决了一系列当代和历史主题。”

两位获奖者将由受人尊敬的电影和科学专业人士组成的评审团选出,评审团将首次全是女性。 2021 年的评审团包括:女演员 卡拉西摩 (镭女孩尼克斯), 制片人 娜塔莉·卡萨比安 (搜索),Cinetic 的追踪主管 亚历克西斯·加法斯, 普林斯顿大学科技史学家 艾米莉汤普森博士, 康奈尔科技交互设计专家 朱文迪博士和海洋生物化学家 贝瑟妮·爱德华兹博士 加州大学伯克利分校。他们的选择将于 2021 年 12 月 3 日公布,随后于 2022 年 1 月举行公开颁奖典礼。

以下是决赛入围者的完整名单:

2021 年斯隆学生评审团大奖决赛入围者: 
由六个与 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会建立全年合作伙伴关系的研究生电影项目提名,以授予剧本和制作补助金。

破碎的面孔 通过 Ariane Hahusseau(飞行员)
美国电影学会 (AFI)

去荷兰 凯特·康德·汉密尔顿 (Kate Condé Hamilton)
卡内基梅隆大学戏剧学院

大马士革 通过科尔史密斯(特征)
哥伦比亚大学

很久以前... 史蒂文·克雷格(专题)
纽约大学蒂施艺术学院

睡眠观察者 亚什娜·马尔霍特拉(飞行员)
加州大学洛杉矶分校戏剧、电影和电视学院

星光 玛丽莎·托雷利·佩德夫斯卡(飞行员)
南加州大学电影艺术学院

2021 年斯隆学生发现奖决赛入围者: 
由与 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 没有预先存在关系的大学电影项目提名。

在星星 阿曼达·森拉 (Amanda Senrra)
佛罗里达州立大学

温柔的艺术 奥利维亚·萨尔兹曼(Olivia Salzman)(特写)
纽约州立大学购买电影与媒体研究学院

三角洲 朱莉·杰克逊(飞行员)
天普大学

第二次机会 沙里尼·罗伊 (Shalini Roy)
密歇根大学

要了解有关斯隆学生奖的更多信息,请访问 movingimage.us/about/sloan-学生奖.

该计划在 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会的支持下得以实现。

 

关于 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会: Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 是一家总部位于纽约的慈善非营利机构,在三个领域提供资助:科学、技术和经济研究;科学机构的质量和多样性;和公众参与科学。斯隆的科学和技术公众理解项目由多伦·韦伯指导,旨在通过更深入地了解我们日益增长的科学和技术世界来丰富人们的生活,并使从事科学家、工程师和数学家工作的男性和女性的生活变得人性化。目标是通过支持书籍、广播、电视、电影、戏剧和新媒体等一系列原创作品来整合科学和人文两种文化。该基金会与大约 20 家电影学院和电影节合作伙伴合作,并支持了 750 多个电影项目,其中包括 30 多部故事片。欲了解更多信息,请访问 sloan.org 或在 Twitter 或 Facebook 上关注@SloanPublic。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Face masks are recommended in the building and required during screenings. Read updated guidelines for safety.

MUSEUM OF THE MOVING IMAGE ANNOUNCES 2021 FINALISTS FOR SLOAN STUDENT PRIZES

Two winners, selected by an all-women jury, will be announced December 3, 2021.

New York, New York, November 4, 2021 — Museum of the Moving Image is excited to announce the ten finalists in contention for the 2021 Sloan Student Prizes. This is the Museum’s inaugural year presenting the awards; they were formerly administered by the Tribeca Film Institute. Created to celebrate outstanding scripts that integrate science or technology into realistic, compelling, and timely stories, the Sloan Student Prizes—Grand Jury and Discovery—also aim to support film development and advance the careers of diverse, emerging filmmakers as they transition out of graduate school and into the film industry.

Each finalist—nominated by one of twelve top film programs across the nation—stands to win a $20,000 prize, industry exposure, and year-round mentorship from both a science advisor and film industry professional.

“Given the importance in both Hollywood and STEM fields, we’re excited by this pool of finalists who are diverse not only in the filmmakers themselves but in the scientific topics addressed,” said MoMI’s Sonia Epstein, Executive Editor and Associate Curator of Science and Film who is leading this new program with support from Project Coordinator Sarah Luciano. “From the neurology of sleep to the chemistry of art authentication, these ambitious projects tackle a range of contemporary and historical topics in feature film and episodic formats.”

Two winners will be selected by a jury of esteemed film and science professionals, which for the first time will be all women. The 2021 jury includes: actress Cara Seymour (Radium GirlsThe Knick), producer Natalie Qasabian (SearchingRun), Cinetic’s Head of Tracking Alexis Galfas, Princeton University Historian of Technology Dr. Emily Thompson, Cornell Tech Interaction Design Specialist Dr. Wendy Ju, and marine biochemist Dr. Bethanie Edwards of University of California, Berkeley. Their selections will be announced on December 3, 2021, followed by a public awards ceremony in January 2022.

Here is the full list of finalists:

The 2021 SLOAN STUDENT GRAND JURY PRIZE Finalists: 
Nominated by six graduate film programs that have year-round partnerships with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to award screenplay and production grants.

Shattered Faces by Ariane Hahusseau (Pilot)
American Film Institute (AFI)

Going Dutch by Kate Condé Hamilton (Feature)
Carnegie Mellon University School of Drama

Damascus by Cole Smith (Feature)
Columbia University

A Long Time Ago... by Steven Kraeger (Feature)
NYU Tisch School of the Arts

The Sleepwatchers by Yashna Malhotra (Pilot)
UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television

Starlight by Marisa Torelli Pedevska (Pilot)
USC School of Cinematic Arts

The 2021 SLOAN STUDENT DISCOVERY PRIZE Finalists: 
Nominated by university film programs that have no preexisting relationship with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

In the Stars by Amanda Senrra (Feature)
Florida State University

The Gentle Art by Olivia Salzman (Feature)
SUNY Purchase School of Film and Media Studies

Delta by Juli Jackson (Pilot)
Temple University

A Second Chance by Shalini Roy (Feature)
University of Michigan

To learn more about the Sloan Student Prizes, please visit movingimage.us/about/sloan-student-prizes.

This program is made possible with the support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

 

About the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation: The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a New York based, philanthropic, not-for-profit institution that makes grants in three areas: research in science, technology, and economics; quality and diversity of scientific institutions; and public engagement with science. Sloan’s program in Public Understanding of Science and Technology, directed by Doron Weber, aims to enrich people’s lives through a keener appreciation of our increasingly scientific and technological world and to humanize the lives of the men and women working as scientists, engineers, and mathematicians. The goal is to integrate the two cultures of science and the humanities by supporting an array of original works such as books, radio, television, film, theater, and new media. The Foundation works with about 20 film school and film festival partners and has supported over 750 film projects, including over 30 feature films. For more information visit sloan.org or follow @SloanPublic on Twitter or Facebook.